Library Board

2018-2022 Members

  • Laurey Gillies (2022 Chair) 
  • Maurice Pepper (2022 Vice Chair)
  • Dorothy Cammaert
  • Jesse T. Glass, Q.C.
  • Andrea Matrosovs
  • Joanne Vivona
  • Gary Zalot

The Blue Mountains Public Library Board meets on the third Thursday of each month in the L.E. Shore Branch boardroom at 2:00pm, no less than ten months a year. Typically the board does not meet in December and one of either July or August.  

In Meeting Agendas & Minutes you will find each of our Open Session Board packages, loaded 1 week prior to the meeting, as well as Minutes for these meetings following the next regular meeting. You will also find how to add your voice to our meetings including making a deputation or providing public input on the agenda. We encourage the community to review the agenda prior to attendance in the event that a time has been changed or the board is beginning with a Closed Session.

Why does the Library Board meet in "closed" session?

Library Board meetings are open to the public and the agendas are posted on our website.

The Public Libraries Act states: “A meeting or part of a meeting may be closed to the public if the subject matter being considered is,

a. The security of the property of the board;
b. Personal matters about an identifiable individual;
c. A proposed or pending acquisition or disposition of land by the board;
d. Labour relations or employee negotiations;
e. Litigation or potential litigation, including matters before administrative tribunals, affecting the board;
f. Advice that is subject to solicitor-client privilege, including communications necessary for that purpose;
g. A matter in respect of which a board or committee of a board may hold a closed meeting under another Act which includes The Municipal Act section 239.3.1 Closing for Education & Training Sessions.

You can see that the reasons for going into a closed session pertain primarily to employee relations, property, bids & tenders, and legal issues. The Board must follow these stipulations.  All other topics that do not fit into these categories are handled in the open session meetings.

All correspondence directed to the Library Board should be directed to the Board Secretary:

Dr. Sabrina Saunders
Tel. 519-599-3681, ext 148
Delivered to L.E. Shore Memorial Library or Craigleith Heritage Depot

Mailing address:

P.O. Box 580
Thornbury, ON
N0H 2P0