L.E. Shore Memorial Library: Mon/Wed/Fri/Sat 10-5 | Tues/Thu 10-8 | Sun 12-4 Visit The Blue Mountains Library on FaceBookFollow The Blue Mountains Library on Twitter
Craigleith Heritage Depot | Tue/Thu/Fri/Sun 12-5 | Wed 3-8 | Sat 10-5 | Mon Closed Visit The Craigleith Heritage Depot on FaceBookFollow The Craigleith Heritage Depot on Twitter
Man Booker Prize for Fiction

Library Catalogue /Sign In


Man Booker Prize for Fiction

The Booker Prizes, now sponsored by the investment company Man Group, are now known as the Man Booker Prizes. The Man Booker Prize for Fiction is an annual literary prize awarded to the best novel, written in English, by a citizen of the Commonwealth. The Man Booker International Prize is awarded once every two years to a living author of any nationality for a body of work published or widely translated into English.

Click the links for library holdings.

Man Booker International Prize for Fiction 2017

The winner is: A Horse Walks Into A Bar by David Grossman

Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2016

The winner is: The Sellout By Paul Beatty

Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2015

The winner is: A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James (Jamaica)

The long list includes: The Green Road by Anne Enright (Ireland), The Moor's Account by Laila Lalami (U.S.), Satin Island by Tom McCarthy (U.K.), The Illuminations by Andrew O’Hagan (U.K.), Lila by Marilynne Robinson (U.S.), A Spool of Thread by Anne Tyler (U.S.), A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara (U.S.).

Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2014

Born in Tasmania in 1961, Richard Flanagan is one of Australia’s leading novelists. His father, who died the day Flanagan finished The Narrow Road to the Deep North, was a survivor of the Burma Death Railway.

Man Booker International Prize 2013

Lydia Davis, an American writer of short stories, has won the Man Booker International Prize 2013.

Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2012

Bring up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel. The year is 1535 and Thomas Cromwell, chief Minister to Henry VIII, must work both to please the king and keep the nation safe. Anne Boleyn, for whose sake Henry has broken with Rome and created his own church, has failed to do what she promised: bear a son to secure the Tudor line. As Henry develops a dangerous attraction to Wolf Hall’s Jane Seymour, Thomas must negotiate a ‘truth’ that will satisfy Henry and secure his own career. But neither minister nor king will emerge undamaged from the bloody theatre of Anne’s final days.

Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2011

The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes. A truly wonderful novel that will have the reader immersed in the story from the very first page, and all the while marvelling at the precision of Barnes’ prose. Tony Webster and his clique first met Adrian Finn at school. Sex-hungry and book-hungry, they would navigate the girl-less sixth form together, trading in affectations, in-jokes, rumour and wit. Maybe Adrian was a little more serious than the others, certainly more intelligent, but they all swore to stay friends for life. Now Tony is in middle age. He’s had a career and a single marriage, a calm divorce. He’s certainly never tried to hurt anybody. Memory, though, is imperfect. It can always throw up surprises, as a lawyer’s letter is about to prove. The Sense of an Ending is the story of one man coming to terms with the mutable past. Laced with trademark precision, dexterity and insight, it is the work of one of the world’s most distinguished writers.

The shortlist included Carol Birch's Jamrach’s Menagerie, Patrick deWitt's The Sisters Brothers, Esi Edugyan's Half Blood Blues, Stephen Kelman's Pigeon English and A D Miller's Snowdrops.

Man Booker International Prize 2011

Philip Roth, an American novelist, has won the Man Booker International Prize 2011.  He is best known for his 1959 collection Goodbye, Columbus, his 1969 novel Portnoy’s Complaint, and for his late-’90s trilogy comprising the Pulitzer Prize-winning American Pastoral (1997), I Married a Communist (1998), and The Human Stain (2000).

Previous Winners

2010 Prize: The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson

2009 Prize: Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel

2009 International Prize: Alice Munro

2007 International Prize: Chinua Achebe

2005 International Prize: Ismail Kadare


©2019 The Blue Mountains Public Library. All Rights Reserved.
All data is subject to errors, omissions or revisions & is not warranted.

We gratefully acknowledge the support of the Town of the Blue Mountains and the Ontario Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport.

Site Design & Development by Running Tide
Funded by a grant from the Trillium Foundation