L.E. Shore Memorial Library: Mon/Wed/Fri/Sat 10-5 | Tues/Thu 10-8 | Sun 12-4 Visit The Blue Mountains Library on FaceBookFollow The Blue Mountains Library on Twitter
Craigleith Heritage Depot | Tue/Thu/Fri/Sun 12-5 | Wed 3-8 | Sat 10-5 | Mon Closed Visit The Craigleith Heritage Depot on FaceBookFollow The Craigleith Heritage Depot on Twitter
Giller Prize

Library Catalogue /Sign In


Giller Prize

The Scotiabank Giller Prize for Excellence in Canadian Fiction is awarded annually to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English.

Click the links for library holdings.


November 20, 2017: The winner is Bellevue Square by Michael Redhill.

October 2, 2017: The Shortlist has been announced. See all the titles in our catalogue.

September 18, 2017: The Longlist has been posted on the Giller Prize website.


Winner: Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeline Thien


Winner: Fifteen Dogs by André Alexis

The Shortlist:

Rachel Cusk for Outline
Heather O'Neill for Daydreams of Angels
Anakana Schofield for Martin John
Samuel Archibald for Arvida


Winner: Us Conductors by Sean Michaels

The Shortlist:

David Bezmozgis for his novel The Betrayers
Frances Itani for her book Tell
Sean Michaels for his novel, Us Conductors
Heather O’Neill for her novel The Girl Who Was Saturday Night
Miriam Toews for her novel All My Puny Sorrows
Padma Viswanathan for her book The Ever After of Ashwin Rao


Winner: Lynn Coady for her short story collection Hellgoing

The Longlist:

Dennis Bock for his novel Going Home Again
Joseph Boyden for his novel The Orenda
Lynn Coady for her short story collection Hellgoing
Craig Davidson for his novel Cataract City
Elisabeth De Mariaffi for her short story collection How To Get Along With Women
David Gilmour for his novel Extraordinary
Wayne Grady for his novel Emancipation Day
Louis Hamelin for his novel October 1970, translated by Wayne Grady
Wayne Johnston for his novel The Son of a Certain Woman
Claire Messud for her novel The Woman Upstairs
Lisa Moore for her novel Caught
Dan Vyleta for his novel The Crooked Maid
Michael Winter for his novel Minister Without Portfolio


Winner: 419 by Will Ferguson

The Longlist:

Marjorie Celona, Y (Hamish Hamilton Canada)
Lauren B. Davis, Our Daily Bread (HarperCollins Canada)
Cary Fagan, My Life Among the Apes (Cormorant Books)
Will Ferguson, 419 (Viking Canada)
Robert Hough, Dr. Brinkley’s Tower (House of Anansi Press)
Billie Livingston, One Good Hustle (Random House Canada)
Annabel Lyon, The Sweet Girl (Random House Canada)
Alix Ohlin, Inside (Anansi)
Katrina Onstad, Everybody Has Everything (McClelland & Stewart)
CS Richardson, The Emperor of Paris (Doubleday Canada)
Nancy Richler, The Imposter Bride (HarperCollins Canada)
Kim Thúy; trans. Sheila Fischman, Ru (Random House Canada)
Russell Wangersky, Whirl Away (Thomas Allen Publishers)


Winner: Esi Edugyan, Half-Blood Blues

The Shortlist:
David Bezmozgis,  The Free World
Lynn Coady,  The Antagonist
Patrick deWitt, The Sisters Brothers
Zsuzsi Gartner, for her short story collection Better Living Through Plastic Explosives
Michael Ondaatje, The Cat's Table

Past Giller Winners

2010: The Sentimentalists by Johanna Skibsrud
2009: The Bishop's Man by Lynden MacIntyre
2008: Through Black Spruce by Joseph Boyden
2007: Late Nights on Air by Elizabeth Hay
2006: Bloodletting and Miraculous Cures by Vincent Lam. A collection of interlinked stories with medical settings. FIC LAM
2005: The Time in Between by Winnipeg author David Bergen - FIC BERG
2004: Runaway by south western Ontario author Alice Munro - FIC MUNRO
2003: The In-Between World of Vikram Lall by second time winner M.G. Vassanji, sensuous in detail and political insight - FIC VASSA
2002: The Polished Hoe by Austin Clarke, set in a post colonial Caribbean island - FIC CLARK
2001: Clara Callan by Richard B. Wright - FIC WRIGH
2000: The prize was awarded to two authors each receiving full prize money: Anil's Ghost by Michael Ondaatje - FIC ONDAA and Mercy Among the Children by David Adams Richards - FIC RICHA
1999: A Good House by Bonnie Burnard - FIC BURNA
1998: The Love of a Good Woman by Alice Munro - FIC MUNRO
1997: Barney's Version by Mordecai Richler (also available on Tape and CD) - FIC RICHL
1996: Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood (also available on Tape) - FIC ATTW
1995: A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry - FIC MISTR

Giller Anthologies

Prize Writing : the 10th Anniversary Collection (2003)
The Scotiabank Giller Prize anthology, 15 years : an anthology of prize-winning Canadian fiction (2008)

©2019 The Blue Mountains Public Library. All Rights Reserved.
All data is subject to errors, omissions or revisions & is not warranted.

We gratefully acknowledge the support of the Town of the Blue Mountains and the Ontario Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport.

Site Design & Development by Running Tide
Funded by a grant from the Trillium Foundation